Black Bean Fritters

And all week long your River City youth’ll be fritterin’ away, I said your young men will be fritterin’.

Fritterin’ away their noon time, supper time, chore time too…

–“Trouble” from The Music Man

If you’re going to fritter away supper time, do it right…with black bean fritters.  These can be the appetizer, or the side dish, or even the main course.  Or you could simply make them as comfort food, when a needy friend stands stoveside, beer in hand and heart on her sleeve, and eats them as they come out of the pan.  (This has never happened to me but it’s a sweet picture, and might even be scribble-worthy.  Hold that thought.)

Stoveside Black Bean Fritters

  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 bag frozen corn, defrosted or not.  I use Trader Joe’s.
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced small
  • 1 zucchini, grated, and squeeze out as much juice as possible
  • 2-3 scallions, chopped
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley or cilantro (or a mix of both)
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar (optional, but it makes a bit of difference)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal

Mix all of the above in no particular order.  You may need to add in another 1/4 cup cornmeal if consistency is too wet (from the zucchini).

Drop tablespoons of batter into olive oil, fry both sides until golden brown, drain on paper towels, sprinkle with salt.

These go good with butternut squash or tomato soup, or tossed on top of a spinach salad.  They are also good on their own with beer and heartache.

6 comments on “Black Bean Fritters

  1. Stacie says:

    I saw the title and thought “well that’s something I won’t be making – yuck!” Then I read the ingredients, and oh my gosh, I think I actually have to try these – they sound good!!! And I REALLY need to find a Trader Joe’s to stock up on that corn!!! 🙂

  2. Swain says:

    The nice thing about these is that of everything listed before brown sugar – nothing is required. If someone doesn’t like red bell peppers, skip them. Obviously if you take out the black beans you will not have black bean fritters, but zucchini-corn fritters are just as yum. Substitute shredded carrot for zucchini and voila – carrot-corn fritters. If the girls like the corn puddings I’ll bet you anything they’ll eat a carrot-corn fritter. It’s FRIED for cryin’ out loud!

  3. Melissa Purdon says:

    Those fritters look delicious! I’m definitely making these this week (perhaps my anti-veggie child might even try & love these).

  4. Swain says:

    Let me know how they turn out!

  5. Swain says:

    I forgot to mention I saw these in Martha Stewart once with a dollop of guacamole on each. THAT I have to try!

  6. amy says:

    I haven’t made bean cakes in a long time, but man, do I like them!
    Espc good with a spicy fruit salsa.

Leave a Reply

