Fish Tacos

As with so many things, I was late to the fish taco party.  For a long time they just didn’t sound appealing at all, or my inner 13-year-old would giggle.  But then one night I was watching one of my favorite Food Network shows, Guy Fieri’s Diners, Drive-ins and Dives, and one of the segments was this place in California where the specialty is fish tacos.  And I saw how they were prepared and thought hmmm….

So oddly enough, the first time I made them at home was when I had no kitchen and we had temporary digs set up in the living room.  Working with my two butane burners, I tried to approximate what I’d seen on TV by sauteing chunks of roughy in butter and lime juice, then serving with a lot of fixings – quartered cherry tomatoes, chopped scallions, and prepared broccoli slaw which is an awesome invention and I always have a bag of it on hand, especially in summer.

And wow, were they good.  I couldn’t believe I’d lived this long without trying them.

So I made these the other night but as I had no filet fish on hand, I reached instead for a box of Trader Joe’s mahi-mahi burgers.  These are great on the grill in summer time, they make a nice alternative to hamburgers.  I figured they’d work for tacos.  I just fried them up 5 minutes on a side then cut them into rough chunks.  I made the broccoli slaw again although I had it in the back of my mind that the celery-fennel slaw would be amazing with fish tacos.  Baby spinach, and halved cherry tomatoes and sliced cucumbers.

Everyone fix ’em up, roll ’em up, come and get ’em.  I can’t wait to eat these outside on my deck.

4 comments on “Fish Tacos

  1. Julia says:

    I never thought I would write this sentence but…your fish tacos look so pretty!

  2. Swain says:

    I….I um….(hands on face)….

  3. Stacie says:

    Hey, I have a few recipes that use broccoli slaw, so I buy it a lot… and love it. But I haven’t “prepared” it… is there a recipe on the bag, or do you have a recipe for it you could share?

  4. Swain says:

    Not much to it, just mayonnaise and a little lemon juice. Or lime juice. A sprinkle of celery seed if I have it. Toss toss toss and done.

Leave a Reply

