The Plan, Day 3…no, 4…3?

So the plan is slightly off because Jeeps ended up cooking last night and making Chinese stir fry.  So it’s Day 4 but I only made 3 of the planned meals.  The rice salad I had planned for yesterday was made tonight.  It’s all good.

Another Martha Stewart Clip, this salad is made with brown and wild rices, and a medley of vegetables.  With beans added it can be the main dish.  And in line with our lettuce cup craze lately, it would work rolled up, too.

I served it tonight with tuna cakes, which Pandagirl alluded to in a culinary conversation with her friends.  Really they are made exactly like meatballs, but using tuna instead of ground meat.  If I have Starkist Tuna Creations, I’ll use two pouches.  I had one pouch tonight and supplemented with one can of solid white tuna.  Breadcrumbs, minced onion, chopped parsley, a little parmesan, an egg or even mayonnaise to bind it all.  Form into patties and fry in olive oil until golden brown.  Done.

Wild Rice Salad

  • 1 1/2 cups cooked wild rice, made according to package directions
  • 3 cups cooked brown rice, made according to package directions
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, sliced
  • 1/2 seedless cucumber, quartered and sliced
  • 6 oz red cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Place all ingredients in bowl and toss well with any vinaigrette of choice.

Serve.

[Editor’s Note – Rolling Rock pony not included.]

4 comments on “The Plan, Day 3…no, 4…3?

  1. Carol Bierman says:

    Did you mean 3 cups of brown rice. I make salmon cakes exactly the way you make tuna cakes. I used frozen salmon which I thaw and then poach. Once cool flake and continue as above. They make great sandwiches and freeze well.

  2. Stacie says:

    So, that would be 4 1/2 cups of wild rice?!?! I’m assuming one of those is brown rice – I’m going with 3 cups of brown, since I like brown better than wild! 🙂 And by the way, when I was growing up, my mom made salmon patties the same way (using canned salmon, as found in the tuna aisle)! 🙂 I remember loving salmon patty night!

  3. Selby says:

    Whoops, yes it’s 3 cups brown rice, I fixed that. And there was often salmon patty night at our house too, Stace, with canned salmon. Who knew?

  4. Stacie says:

    We miss you!!!

Leave a Reply

