Dear Lima Beans: I was wrong.

I was wrong, so wrong.  The depth and magnitude of my wrongness was vast beyond comprehension.  I stand here in my wrongness and admit error.

I made a lima bean salad tonight, fully expecting they would be the same starchy, mealy bits of yuck that I so loathed in my childhood.

I boiled half a bag of frozen ones, then drained them.  I tossed them with olive oil, lemon juice, chopped parsley and shaved parmesan.

Oh man, I was so wrong.  I thought this was great.  Even Jeeps said they weren’t bad.  I bribed Redman a dollar to eat some and he grudgingly admitted they were not worthy of barfing.  But the highlight of dinner was the undeserved privilege of hearing Panda utter this inconceivable sentence, “Mom, can I have some more of the lima beans?”

Why of course!

3 comments on “Dear Lima Beans: I was wrong.

  1. Rob says:

    Lima beans are pure evil

    EVIIIIIILLLLL

    However, I might try the above recipe. Just to taste. But I bet I won’t like it. So there.

  2. amy says:

    Why are people so harsh on limas?
    People eat plenty of harsh, starchy corn without complaint- why single out bad limas?
    Good limas are great!! And good favas are even better.

  3. Stacie says:

    Wow, a child requesting MORE lima beans – inconceivable!!!

Leave a Reply

