Asparagus Ricotta Tart (With Variation)

I’ve long wanted to try this Asparagus Ricotta Tart that I saw on Stacey Snacks.  Look how pretty:

Photo courtesy of Staceysnacksonline.com

But I have held off for two reasons:  first, I had a feeling 50% of the household wouldn’t dig it; second, despite being the season for asparagus I have to say what I’ve seen in the stores looks pretty awful.  Maybe it’s not yet quite the season?

But that box of frozen puff pastry in the freezer is calling me.  I think it’s the concept of the tart that I find so appealing, more than the ingredients.  Can I make this more kid friendly, or at least appeal to 75% of the household?  Forget Redman, he can have a scrambled egg.  Let’s see…

Ricotta Tart with Ham and Peas

  • 1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup cubed prosciutto or ham
  • 1/2 bag frozen peas, thawed and drained
  • zest of a whole lemon
  • salt and pepper

Roll out puff pastry in a tart pan, or lay free-form on a baking sheet.  You can use whole, or cut into individual “tartlets”.

Mix ricotta cheese, egg, zest, salt and pepper.  Spread in the center of puff pastry.  Sprinkle with ham and peas (if you are making an asparagus tart, use pre-blanched spears)

Let cool 5 minutes then slice with a pizza cutter.  This was a total hit.  I took some across the street to my neighbor, and we killed the rest of it, spoiling our dinner.  Redman took no notice of it but Panda had three pieces.  Definitely making this for a party, and with the asparagus.

2 comments on “Asparagus Ricotta Tart (With Variation)

  1. Stacie says:

    So, to make asparagus (a huge favorite for two in my family, an “it’s not BAD, ok, I’ll try it” for the other two)… simply replace the ham and peas with asparagus? Everything else in the same? Excited to try this one!!! (The asparagus here looks great!)

  2. Selby says:

    Yes, everything exactly the same, just blanch your asparagus spears first and then put them on top of the ricotta cheese.

    Now what do you think about a dessert version of this….Riccotta, egg, lemon but instead of salt and pepper maybe a teaspoon of sugar. And then scatter sliced peaches and/or berries before going in the oven? Puff pastry comes in a package of two, you know…I used one tonight. The other one is lonely in the fridge…

    Hmmm…..:-)

Leave a Reply

