Brown Butter Summer Squash “Linguine”

The minute I saw the picture on page 92 of Fast, Fresh & Green

…I thought, “I have to make this.”

Unless you have exceptional knife skills, you do need a julienne peeler for this recipe, pictured here.  I got mine in a set of 3 peelers from Panda last Christmas, but a single one is not expensive and quite a worthy investment.  Consider asking Santa for one.

As usual I was a little short of a few key ingredients:  I didn’t have any chopped almonds or hazelnuts that were called for.  So I went in a more Italian direction by using chopped garlic and adding some halved cherry tomatoes as well.  To be honest I was a little underwhelmed by the finished dish.  The recipe cooking time is 2 minutes but both Jeeps and I found it sort of undercooked.  I also may have used too much lemon.  But I loved the very concept of it, and it will definitely be something I fool around with.  If you do give this a shot yourself, let me know what you think.

Brown Butter Summer Squash Linguine

  • 1 1/2 lbs summer squash – mix of yellow and green
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped almonds or hazelnuts
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tsp chopped fresh parsley or tarragon
  • 1/2 lemon

Wash and dry the squash and trim off the ends.  Using a julienne peeler, peel the squash lengthwise all the way around, dropping the strips into a bowl.  Continue peeling until you reach the seed core.  Discard the core and peel the other squash in the same fashion.  Give all the strips a little toss in the bowl and separate any that are clumped together.

In a straight-sided saute pan, melt the butter over medium-low heat.  Add the almonds and swirl the butter around in the pan.  Cook the butter until it reaches a nutty brown color, about 2 minutes.  Immediately add the squash and salt.  Toss the squash gently with tongs until it is well coated with the butter.  Continue cooking just until the squash becomes slightly limp, about 1 minute.

Remove the pan from the heat, stir in half the chopped herbs and a squeeze of lemon.  Toss, taste, and add more lemon if desired.   Transfer to a serving dish, sprinkle with more of the herbs, and serve.

Again, it was good, but not quite right.  This strikes me as a very summery dish.  It cozied up fine to a baked potato here, but I began to imagine blanching the julienned squash, just to get the right consistency, then tossing it with a vinaigrette and serving at room temperature with grilled shrimp.

Hmm…hold that thought.

Leave a Reply

