Meatballs 3 Ways

Feeling much better.  My doctor and I took care of business and I’m starting to feel the floor under my feet again.  Now I just have to get the meat back on my bones.  And what better way than with meatballs?

I’ll tell you a better way:  pre-cooked meatballs.  Courtesy of Uncle Tony, our representative with Horizon Foods.  These things have to be terrible for you, you just know the sodium content is off the chart.  But once in a while when you have four different people with four different ideas for dinner, meatballs are the common thread.

Case in point, tonight.  I was wanting soup; Panda and Redman wanted yellow rice with peas (which was leftover from another meal); Jeeps pointed out that the bag of kale in the crisper drawer was approaching slimehood.  He was right, it needed to be used.

Now, watch…

One soup pot on the back burner.  Olive oil.  Three carrots scraped and sliced.  A can of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed.  Half a pint of grape tomatoes.  Saute all.  Add chicken broth.  Chopped parsley if you have it.  Lower the heat, cover and let it do its thing.

One skillet on the front burner.   Olive oil.  Five big cloves garlic, minced.  Work it.  Add half the bag of kale, toss with tongs.  Cover and let wilt.  Add other half.  Salt and pepper.  Toss.  Cover and let it do its thing.

Another skillet down.  Olive oil.  Half the bag of pre-cooked meatballs.  Brown them.

The stove now looks like this.  Jeeps insisted I take the picture so I could prove I wasn’t putting three different dinners into one post.  As if I would do such a thing.

And now (drum roll), from these three pots and one tupperware from the fridge, I give you dinner:

The kids had meatballs with their yellow rice.

Jeeps constructed yellow rice, kale, and meatballs.

I dropped meatballs and kale into my soup.

Everyone was happy.  And personally, I think mine was best.

One comment on “Meatballs 3 Ways

  1. Claudia says:

    So happy you are back! XXXOOO

Leave a Reply

